Senate EPW Committee Approves 4-Month Highways & Transit Extension

AASHTO Journal, 9 September 2011

The Senate Environment and Public Works Committee unanimously approved Thursday a four-month extension of the law authorizing federal highway and transit programs as well as the gasoline, diesel fuel, and other taxes that pay for them via the Highway Trust Fund. The bill now moves to the full Senate for consideration.The current surface transportation law known as “SAFETEA-LU” was passed in 2005, expired in 2009, and has been temporarily extended by Congress seven times. The present extension is set to lapse Sept. 30.

Read the article

This entry was posted in General News, Legislative / Political, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.