Several State DOTs Take Home National Awards

AASHTO Journal, 5 April 2013

Six state transportation departments received awards this week from two national organizations.

The American Public Works Association recognized the Ohio Department of Transportation with the Excellence in Snow and Ice Control Award on Wednesday for the agency’s “high standard of service for snow and ice removal on 43,000 miles of highways” with the help of 1,600 snowplows, 3,000 agency employees, and 650,000 tons of salt. APWA’s award was created to promote excellence in the management of snow and ice operations, while also promoting best practices for snow and ice removal. ODOT was the only state DOT to receive the award.

“Our people do great things every day and it’s nice to be recognized for the superior level of service we are providing to our customers—the motoring public,” said ODOT Director Jerry Wray in a statement. “Motorists are less tolerant of failure in snow and ice control than in any other highway function. Unless a storm is handled capably by our maintenance forces, it can upset the daily routines of individuals, adversely affect business, and endanger public safety.”

ODOT will officially receive the award at APWA’s 2013 North American Snow Conference later this month.

On Tuesday, five other state DOTs were named winners of the Asphalt Pavement Alliance’s 2012 Perpetual Pavement Awards: Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department for its two-mile stretch of U.S. 82 in Lafayette County (between milepost 9.45 and 11.45); Florida Department of Transportation for a section of State Road 55/U.S. 19 in Levy County (from the Citrus County line to State Road 121); Iowa Department of Transportation for 3.5 miles of northbound State Route 151 in Linn County (from milepost 30.12 to milepost 33.6); Minnesota Department of Transportation for almost 20 miles of U.S. Trunk Highway 61 (between Winona and Wabasha, or mileposts 34 to 53); and Pennsylvania Department of Transportation for 2.9 miles of State Route 145 in Lehigh County (segments 180/181 to 240/241).

The Perpetual Pavement Awards are handed out to state DOTs with asphalt pavements that are a minimum of 35 years old and that have never suffered from a structural failure. These segments must “demonstrate the characteristics expected from long-life asphalt pavements: excellence in design, quality in construction, and value for the traveling public.”

Additional information on APA’s awards is available here. Further information on APWA’s awards can be found here​.

This entry was posted in General News, Legislative / Political, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.