Cox Fills Three Committee Seats

AASHTO Journal, 12 June 2015

AASHTO President John Cox has appointed three officials to lead or serve in separate association assignments.

Cox, who is also director of the Wyoming Department of Transportation, named Nancy Albright to a two-year term chairing the Snow and Ice Cooperative Program.

That means Albright, director of the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet’s office of project delivery and preservation, will chair SICOP until the end of the 2017 AASHTO annual meeting.

The president tapped Sandra Larson to be vice chair of the Safety Management Subcommittee of the Standing Committee on Highway Traffic Safety, for a four-year term through the 2019 annual meeting.

Larson is director of the systems operations bureau of the Iowa Department of Transportation, which includes the safety engineering function for that DOT. She is also vice chair of the AASHTO SHRP2 Safety Task Force, which promotes use of safety data among states from the second Strategic Highway Research Program.

The Safety Management Subcommittee is chaired by Sheri LeBas, Louisiana’s transportation secretary.

Cox appointed Wyoming DOT Chief Engineer Delbert McOmie to serve a four-year term through the 2019 annual meeting as Region 4 representative on the Highways Special Committee on U.S. Route Numbering, which is chaired by Gregory Johnson.

All of the appointments were effectively immediately, though subject to being confirmed at the next meeting of the association’s Executive Committee.

This entry was posted in General News, Legislative / Political, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.